The Perfect Day

Day number 25 of this Daily Post  Challenge. It seems like it’s been longer than that, y’all.

Today’s topic suggestion is to write about your idea of a perfect Sunday. A few Sundays ago, my husband and I packed a few clothes,  got up early on Sunday morning and drove all day to Florida. The two of us love going on impromptu trips. The more spontaneous they are, the more we like them.

Last year we bought a bright red corvette. It was my husband’s dream car. He has always wanted one and we found an incredible bargain on Ebay. It has turned driving into an absolute joy for him, and we have added a lot of miles to this car in the ten months that we have owned it.

We have always wanted to drive down to Key West, but after we bought this car, we just had to, y’all. Here is a picture of my husband in front of the car at the Southernmost Point. We parked her there, and I jumped out with the camera for this shot. The whole time there was a cab driver screaming what the fuck, man? at us to move!

My best friend is my husband. He is always there for me – through the good times and the bad. He takes care of me in so many ways. Every night before he comes to bed, he makes sure the doors are locked, the lights are off, the cat is out and the dog is in, the coffee is made and the coffee pot is ready to be plugged in the next morning.

He does all the “man” jobs, from changing the oil in the car and cutting the grass –  to climbing up into the attic to get the Christmas decorations down. But he also does the laundry and carefully hangs up my delicate items. He knows how to make up the grocery list, and if need be, he buys the groceries. He does the dishes, every night. He sweeps and vacuums and dusts. He cooks  almost as well as I can, and for all the times he does the whole dinner, without much help from me – I would never complain.

Every day, and I do mean every day (or night) that we have to work, he prepares our food and packs our lunch box. He makes sure we have cold water and beer in our refrigerator. He rounds up and takes the trash out to the curb weekly. He organizes and hauls off our recyclables. He brings in the newspaper daily, at the crack of dawn.

He takes our dog for walks when it is freezing, or raining or I am just too tired to go. He puts food in her bowl twice a day. He  feeds my cat and lets her live is good to her, even though she has a nasty habit of trying to climb up on top of his car, and she has already left her claw mark on the back of it!

Every day in the winter, if there is ice on the car’s windshield, he is the one who gets out in the freezing temperatures to scrape it off.  He starts the car before I come out of the house – to make sure it is warm for me.

He never complains. He never asks me for help. If you ask him why he does all of these things, he says, “Because Ginger never has a headache.” “So Ginger doesn’t have to!”

He’s funny. His mission in life is to try to make everyone, but mostly me, laugh. His humor is sometimes impossible for me to get a little different from mine, but he never stops trying, and that is enough to make me smile. I posted this photo of him a couple of days ago, and it pretty much sums of what a kook he can be.

He tells me several times, every day, that I am beautiful, sexy, and that he loves me.

He accepts my family, and does whatever he can to help them too. My grandchildren, by my sons from my first marriage, are our grandchildren. He loves them as much, and worries about them as much, as I do.

And more important than all of  that, he listens to me. He shares things with me. He trusts me. We talk about everything and anything. We agreed a long time ago that there would be no secrets between us. We know each other so well that I don’t think it would be possible for either one of us to have one.

So my idea of a perfect Sunday? Going to Key West with my best friend is right up there at the top of my list. But really, spending the day with my wonderful man, doing anything or nothing,  is enough to make it a perfect day.

I’m submitting this photo for Ruby Tuesday.

For  Ruby Tuesday , you post one of your own  photos that contains something red. It can be a whole lotta red, or a little bit of red. I like the eclectic collection of pictures of anything red,  so I love to play.

rubyslippers-copy2And I really, really like the cute little red Dorothy shoes in the Ruby Tuesday button (left). Ain’t they just too cute? If you click on them, you can look at lots of other folks’ Ruby Tuesday photos.

5 Comments

Filed under Ruby Tuesday

5 responses to “The Perfect Day

  1. Jan

    Ahhh…good husbands. Sometimes you have to go through a couple of them before you find one. LOL

  2. Nice pics out there… visit me sometime too ….http://jingcans.blogspot.com/

  3. magicalmysticalteacher

    RED IS THE HUE

    A touch of scarlet, a bit of red,
    Ribbons of crimson around your head;
    Everyone looking for color knows
    Red is the hue that defines the rose.

    © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher

    Scarlet Door

  4. This is really sweet. It’s clear you have a gem there :) I’m happy for you.

  5. atiredwife

    I <3 both of you SO much!

Leave a Reply

