Rising up, to call her Blessed

scan0008

 

She gets up before dawn to prepare breakfast for her household and plan the day’s work.

She is energetic and strong, a hard worker. She watches for bargains; her lights burn late into the night. Her hands are busy spinning thread, her fingers twisting fiber.

She extends a helping hand to the poor and opens her arms to the needy.

She is clothed with strength and dignity

She can laugh at days to come.

She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

Her children rise up and call her blessed.

Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.

Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last;

But a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised.

Reward her for all she has done. Let her deeds publicly declare her praise.

Proverbs 31: 15, 17-20, 25-26, 28-31

2 thoughts on “Rising up, to call her Blessed

  1. I’m going to comment on my own blog, how sad is that? I just wanted to tell y’all that this picture was taken in the summer (I know this because my mother is wearing cute, little shorts!) of 1957, on the porch of a beach house in Wrightsville Beach, NC. It is a picture of my mother, Joyce, and my grandmother, Gladys Parker, and me!! What, you don’t see me? I’m in there, hiding under my mother’s cute “little” maternity shirt!

Leave a Reply

