Ginger’s Holiday Letter

img_0789

Hey, y’all. Merry Christmas.

LAST week’s spin cycle, brought to us by Sprite’s Keeper at  http://www.spriteskeeper.com/my_weblog/ was supposed to be about  the dreaded holiday newsletter. I know, I know, I’m late. But I wanted a decent, recent festive picture of us with the dog. So I had to wait until we both had a day off, figure out what to wear, gather lots of treats for Hannah, shoo the cat out of the room, set up the blanket to sit on, lay down throw rugs over the wood floors so the dog could walk over to the tree without falling down and breaking a hip, set up the auto timer, try umpteen million times to get a shot where the dog is actually looking ahead and not at the treat on the floor (or the cat), sort through the pictures we took to find just the right one, hurry up and order Christmas cards with this picture on them from Snapfish so they would get here by Christmas, and find the time to actually sit down and post all this.

Life ain’t easy sometimes.

And since I absolutely abhor reading other folk’s newsy, chatty, braggy  holiday letters, I won’t subject y’all to any of that nonsense from me.

I won’t bore y’all with details about all the things that things that changed this year. I know you don’t want to hear about how our overtime has gone from 60% to nothing, AND we might be getting laid off next month. I know y’all don’t really care that my youngest son, Klinton has been accepted at ECU, and he has a beautiful new girlfriend. Or that my oldest son, Kyle, is graduating from Cape Fear Community College with a perfect 4.0 average. And he started a blog. (Not that anybody’s interested, but it’s at http://kylesmetablog.wordpress.com.) I’m sure no one is interested in the fact that I’m gonna be a first time grandma this spring, courtesy of my middle son, Ryan, bless his heart.

I also won’t try to y’all about all the fun stuff we did this year. No body would exactly love me going on and on about how we went to New York last spring and had the most perfect day of our lives playing golf and eatin’ at Brooks’s House of Barbeque. I’m not going to put you to sleep with stories about taking my step daughter to Myrtle Beach and going to the now defunct Hard Rock Park and Myrtle Waves and eatin’ meat at Rioz Brazilian Steakhouse until we were about to bust our guts.

You don’t have to read about our fun weekend in October, when my dear friend Debbie from Buzzin By ( http://buzzinby.com/ ) and her crazy husband, Kirk, came and we spent the whole weekend toting a pink, plastic flamingo around annoying the hell out of waitresses, policemen, people working in the beer tent at the Autumn in Topsail Festival, and rescue workers, by trying to get them to pose for a picture with a flamingo. But you can read all about it at www.snowyfeathers.wordpress.com, if you like.

I also won’t bore all of y’all to tears talkin’ about all the stuff that hasn’t changed. You won’t have to read about how I still haven’t lost weight, our credit cards still aren’t paid off, we still want to go on another cruise and my mother-in-law’s precious little angel, the white Bichon named Heidi, STILL isn’t house-broken after five years, bless her little furry heart.

And last of all, I know y’all will be ever so grateful to know that I won’t be tryin’ to make y’all be all sad and teary-eyed by tellin’ y’all about my beloved 96 year old Grandmama Gladys, who was so dear to me, who passed away on Oct. 23 of this year. But y’all can read about how wonderful she was here, https://gingereebs.wordpress.com/2008/11/13/i-found-a-letter/, if you feel like cryin’, that is.

9 thoughts on “Ginger’s Holiday Letter

  1. Hi Ginger,

    I bet you are really busy these days. I was just searching for yours and your Mom’s addresses (physical) and was reading your blog–very nice.

    I also looked at your son’s blog. Isn’t it amazing how we can remain tied together in cyberspace? I love the picture. We have 1 dog and 3 cats. I gave up trying to get everyone to sit still for a picture.

    Happy holidays,
    Adria

  2. 1. LOL at Admin and the picture … with just “nice picture.” It’s a great picture, but that seriously just made me laugh. And it’s the first time I’ve laughed since Aaron’s news on Monday. So, thanks Admin … whoever you are!

    2. Hannah. She’s just precious. You know, when she’s not trying to break my nose or bloodying Kirk’s.

    3. Gramma. I know you can’t wait … and I hope the baby is a girl!

    4. I really need to walk you through posting links. How about you call me this weekend and I will. (*giggle*)

Leave a Reply

