My New Year Plan – To Enjoy

This week’s spin cycle, brought to us by the ever engaging and evolving Sprite’s Keeper is about New Year’s Resolutions. From some darn reason, I can’t hardly bring myself to do this one, y’all.  The whole idea of having to “resolve” to do something is way too final.

I think it’s because Southern women kinda shy away from resolutions. It sounds so formal and churchy, as in, “The Southern Baptists have formally voted to adopt a new resolution.” It reminds me of a formal, sit-down dinner. You know the kind, where you send out invitations that say “RSVP” on the bottom in fancy gold letters, and you have to get out your great grandma’s silverware and polish it up? I envision starchy tablecloths, linen napkins and awkward silences, or somebody finding a piece of old food stuck to the back of a salad bowl. Shudder.

I’d prefer something alot more casual. As in, “Y’all come on over for supper, we’re havin’ homemade vegetable soup and cornbread with sweet ice tea.”

And well, sure, we Southern gals sometimes “resolve” to think about it tomorrow, if it’s really wearin’ on our nerves, but any Southern woman worth her weight in fat back will tell you – we are much better at making a PLAN. Now, a PLAN is something I can get all a-twitter about. A PLAN requires a list. And being a true southern gal from “North Cackalaky”, there ain’t  nothin’ I love better that writing (actually, revising, ’cause I always have one)  my good ole ‘”To Do” list. It’s second only to shoppin’ for new shoes, y’all.

In thinking about stuff I’d like to do this year, I’m ever conscious of the loss of my grandmother this past October. I have a fresh understanding of how short life really is, and I feel like we need to enjoy it as much as we possibly can, while we still can.

So, in the interest of promoting All Things Southern, and keeping my goal of enjoyin life more, I give you my 2009 “To Do” list:

1. First and foremost, have more frequent sex. We might as well use it before we lose it! (Hey, even the preachers are advocating this one.)

2.Enjoy the little things that I never give myself time to do. Bubble baths. Hot chocolate. Reading books. Listening to music. Painting. Lighting candles. Watching the sun set. Walking on Wrightsville Bdcp_09801each.

3. Make a memories DVD of the pictures we took LAST summer. I enjoy torturing my family by making them sit down and look at our pictures.

4. Finish scanning all of my grandmother’s old family photos, so I can make  DVDs to send to all of her family, and  type all of her poems, so they are saved in my computer. And then, make poetry DVDs to send to the family. My grandmother had alot of profound things to say, and I’m on a mission to share her words and stories.

5. Start another blog, about my grandmother’s life, with the old scanned pictures and poems. I already enjoy posting her poems, and I want to put them all out there.

6. Finally getting around to setting up my grandmother’s sewing machine, that I’ve had for 2 years and mending some clothes that probably don’t even fit anymore.

7. Help my youngest son move into his new apartment, where he’s going to college, and clean out and re-paint his old room and get new furniture for it. Then we can have friends over for the weekends, another thing I enjoy.

8. Try and get over my phone phobia, by planning to make more phone calls. That will allow me to do something else I enjoy – share a laugh with friends.

9. Plan a vacation. (There. A sentence with two of the most heavenly words in existence…PLAN and VACATION.)

10. Lose 15 pounds. I realize this is on everyone else’s list. I don’t want to stop enjoying cooking, or dinners, or eating out and especially I don’t intend to give up my cocktails. I’d just like to enjoy shopping for clothes again. I might have to join that HASAY thingy.

8 thoughts on “My New Year Plan – To Enjoy

  1. I love the fact that most of your list is about doing fun things and relaxing. Most lists I’ve seen are about better motivation, stop this, refrain from that, you want more of this and more of that. Bravo, Ginger! You’re linked and Happy New Year!

  2. A plan! LOL!!!!! I thought we broke you of that. 🙂

    I’d like to add a number 11 to your list: Go to Maryland to see Deb and Kirk this year.

    Happy New Year Sweetie!

  3. Great list of resolutions. I’m with Sprite’s Keeper, I like that most of these are fun/happy things! Anytime you want to join HASAY, we’ll be here with open arms. No pressure and Happy New Year!

  4. Great balls of fire, woman – we may REALLY be soul mates! I think I fell in love with you at “Y’all come on over for supper, we’re havin’ homemade vegetable soup and cornbread with sweet ice tea.”

    Honey, I’ll bring the cornbread. And a pecan pie for dessert.

    And makin’ a list is second only to shoppin’ for new shoes? And first on your list is to have more sex? Oh, we ARE gonna be good friends…

  5. Great Plan!

    I’m in the process of scanning into the computer a lot of my mother-in-laws & her mother’s things. When I asked my husband if he wanted me to make a DVD for his brothers his answer was; “Don’t to go all that trouble. If they want to see them they can look at your blog for a change.” There was a bit of profanity thrown in but he’s Irish so that is expected.

  6. Great “to do” list! Maybe I should have added your #1 to my list too! Tony would love me for it. 🙂

    Also, have you ever heard of Jeanne Robertson? She’s one of the funniest commedians I’ve ever heard and every time I hear something from her on Blue Collar Radio on my XM I think of you!

Leave a Reply

