For Wordless Wednesday – BOOKS

the-artist

This photo is for Wordless Wednesday, hosted by Dixie over at French Lique, Texas. The theme for this week is “Books”. Since it’s kinda hard impossible for me to post something anything without at least a few words going on and on about it, I have to tell y’all about this photo. This white headed, beautiful southern lady is my favorite author and my Grandmother, Gladys Parker. She passed away last October at the young age of 96, and her mind was sharp as a tack right until the very end.

In this photo, she is sitting at her dining room table in her tiny apartment, which she called her “Penthouse on the Third Floor”.  She is looking over a book of poems that she wrote, a collection called “Then and Now.” The picture on the table is an original oil painting, also her’s. She was a self-taught artist, poet, beloved mother and the epitome of a grand, southern matriarch.

You can read more about Gladys, and read some of her poems, by visiting her blog, The Rock of Gibraltar, here.

02a4886a34ca69e7_o

For more Wordless (or not so wordless) Wednesday photos, visit the other participants at French Lique, Texas, by clicking here.

13 thoughts on “For Wordless Wednesday – BOOKS

  1. I’m impressed by the kind of woman your grandmother was, Ginger. She was definitely a unique individual. I hope you have that beautiful painting in your home.

    I hope you will come see my WW photo.

  2. I’m very glad you were not wordless today! That picture needed the caption you wrote…you made me and my heart smile at the strength and creativity of your grandmother. Thank you for sharing the story.

    P.S. I find it really hard not to talk on WW, either…but some photos DO need captions!

  3. HAPPY WORDLESS WEDNESDAY
    NOW I JUST HAVE A SOFT SPOT FOR THIS BLOG AND DID SHED SOME TEARS OF JOY AND SADNESS THAT SHE SPROUTED HER WINGS AND FLEW HOME “FREE”
    BEAUTIFUL…I LOVE EVERY WORD OF HOW YOU DESCRIBED HER…SHE WAS ONE TO DRAW WISDOM FROM FOR SURE
    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING HER AND HER BLOG
    HUGS
    debbie

  4. OH, how sweet. And your post is a hoot! I was thinking my self that this ‘wordless’ stuff just might not work in blogland. Everything has a story and it is so hard not to tell.
    What a treasure you had and still have in memories.
    Thanks for sharing your Grandmother with us.
    Candy

  5. what a wonderful grandmother… thanks for sharing her with us today on WW… okay… well, not really W for you… but still W… sometimes I find it quite difficult to be W on W myself… blessings. Dixie

  6. I am coming over from Dixie’s and I am so with you on it being really hard not to say anything on the post. So I was like you and had to talk for a moment. Your grandmother sounds like a wonderful lady. Hope you have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

