How We Change: The different versions of me

spincyclesmallThis week’s Spin Cycle topic is change.

Henry David Thoreau said, “Things do not change; we change.”

This week I’ve changed a few things about myself. Well, it’s still a work in progress, y’all, but I’m working on it.

First, I realized that my stupid phone phobia is probably making me feel isolated from certain friends, needlessly. I need to change that. So I’m going to make an effort to overcome it, by picking up the phone more often.

Second, I had an enlightening experience at work, that made me realize that I was wrong about something. I withdrew my membership from the Union several years ago, thinking that I would never need them. Well, this past week, I needed them and they came through for stubborn, non-union me. So I’ve got the paperwork coming to me to sign back up again. I can admit it when I’m wrong.

Third, I’m going to be a first-time Grandma, in May. And, I’ve changed my mind about something else. I thought having a baby shower had to done a certain way. You know, with a card-board stork, a cake with pink or blue icing, crepe paper frills, silly bows pinned on the mother-to-be, stacks of presents wrapped in pink and blue paper, and balloons festively hung from the ceiling.

Well, my son and his beautiful girl, have shown me a better way. They, being younger, hipper, and wiser, do not want or need the frills, and they don’t want to send all that crap into the landfills. So I’m going to do my part to save the planet for the littlest member of my clan, by having a “Green Themed Baby Shower”. If y’all don’t know what that is (I didn’t), google it. It’s not only the coolest thing I’ve discovered in years, but it’s the “In” thing now, too. All the celebrities are doing it!

And since I love posting photos so much, here are some pictures of me, changing through the years. I’ve always loved the piano, and so have all of my different selves.

This is the four year old me, back when I was cute, with my first piano:

scan0007

This is me, about age ten, with my “real” piano, an old mahogany upright:

scan0037

The same piano, but a different high school version, of “me”. That’s my mom and my brother, Earl, in the background.

ginger-playing-piano-in-melbourne

And this is the “today me”, about to become a grandma, y’all. In this photo, I am playing a grand piano at my mother’s cousin’s house, in Charleston, S.C.

img_0736

Now head on over to Sprite’s Keeper and read everyone else’s spins on change!

7 thoughts on “How We Change: The different versions of me

  1. Good pictures, although you skipped some steps. I didn’t know you weren’t part of the union any more. And I’m sorry for breaking the ends of the keys off of your piano when I was little.

    • I didn’t have any pictures of me playing the piano in between, oh, age 15 and 50, ha ha. I quit the union several years ago, I honestly thought I’d never need them. I didn’t realize that the company would and could stoop to false accusations, or that I was guilty until I could prove my innocence. And I don’t think you were the only one breaking keys…I’m pretty sure you had help!

  2. I have a phone phobia, too, that I’ve worked hard to change! (It’s a work in progress!) My husband just doesn’t get why it’s hard for me to just pick up the phone and call someone…

    I love the idea of a green baby shower!

  3. How the heck did I miss this? Forgive me! I love the photos and have been to a Green Shower which was pretty cool. All the decorations were stuff that would be used when the baby was born and all the foods were finger foods and cupcakes to cut down on plastic utensils. Brilliant. Congrats on the grandchild and slap me next time I do this, please! You’re linked!

Leave a Reply

