How to Demand a Full Refund for Crappy Looking Flowers

DSCF3889 - CopyThanks to my friend, Jan, over at Jan’s Sushi Bar, I’ve decided to give this here posting every day thing a try, y’all.

It’s called NaBloPoMo, and I can’t believe how long it just took me to write that. Stands for “National Blog Posting Month”. You post something every day for a month.

The theme for the month is “Tomorrow.”

I’ve been bitching rambling on this week about rampant incompetence that seems to be everywhere nowadays. I don’t care where I go, or what I try to do anymore, it seems like all anybody hires is incompetent morons. If things continue to deteriorate at the rate they’re going, I hate to think about what tomorrow’s generation will have to deal with, just to get a tire changed or order a meal.

If you read yesterday’s post, I was ranting about the incompetence of online floral delivery businesses, specifically Teleflora. I absolutely don’t recommend them. Or any online florist, for that matter. Although the concept of it is wonderful, the humiliation you will feel if they completely screw you over (just look at the picture of what I got) is not worth the convenience of being able to order flowers from home.

The first thing I did, when I saw the “bouquet” horrible mess I received for my grandmother’s funeral, I went online to demand a full refund. Under the “contact us” section, instead of an actual email address, I found a little survey about how pleased I may or may not be with my order. Well.

How happy was the recipient with the bouquet? Displeased

Please explain your response: Flowers did not match photo or description on website

How would you rate our delivery service? Unsatisfactory

Please explain your response: Product was delivered late. The product was for a funeral service, and was delivered after everyone had gone home.

No where was there an option to ask for a refund. I guess I was the very first displeased customer they’d ever had? The next day I received this email:

Thank you for contacting Teleflora. Please be informed that we do not guarantee timed deliveries for our local florist delivers in their own business hours.

Furthermore, we have noted your concern. Rest assured that it will be legally documented.

It has been a pleasure to assist you and we look forward to serving your floral needs in the future.

Legally documented? My concerns are noted? EXCUSE ME? How in Heaven’s name can a florist not guarantee  a delivery time for a funeral, for Pete’s sake? Isn’t that what they do? In my mind, someone should have been on the phone immediately, to find out what they could do for me! So I dashed off an email (now that I had the address).

Hello,

Thank you for responding. You do not guarantee timed deliveries for funeral services??? For an arrangement that is specifically FOR a funeral, with no other purpose?? Really??? My grandmother’s service was at 1 PM, eastern standard time, hardly a difficult time for any local florist to meet. Also, you have not mentioned my other problem….THERE WERE NO FLOWERS in the arrangement!!!
It was not what I paid for, not what I expected, and not acceptable!! Please issue my credit card a full refund immediately!

To which the response was:

Dear Ginger,

Thank you for contacting Teleflora. Please accept our apology for the poor quality of the arrangement delivered. I have reviewed your order and the matter has been discussed with the florist. Words cannot express our regret for your dissatisfaction. To convey our apologies, we would be happy to issue a 30% refund.

Please advise if you feel this is an acceptable resolution. If you have any further questions or concerns, please don?t hesitate to email us at this address or contact us via phone. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Lisa

Teleflora


Really? Now I was at least dealing with a person, Lisa. But I guess Lisa thought I just fell off the turnip truck last week.

smaller flowersDear Lisa,
No, I do not feel this is as acceptable resolution. I am attaching a photo of the arrangement that was delivered to us, too late to be displayed at my grandmother’s service. You take a look at it, and explain to me why I should have to pay anything for this, when I ordered a display of WHITE FLOWERS! I placed the order on Saturday, the 25th, at 9:30 AM. The graveside service was  Monday, the 27th, at 1 pm. Isn’t 2 days enough time for a delivery to be made on time? And compare the picture of what I ordered to what I recieved. I think you have a huge problem with the local florist here in Wilmington.
I love the idea of being able to order flowers online, because it is nice to be able to see what I am ordering. I think you must have a good and reputable business. I have heard of Teleflora, which is why I used your services. I did not get what I thought I had ordered. So this is why I am asking for a full refund. I ordered from you, in good faith, and I gave you my credit card information. I kept my end of the bargain, and I expect to be treated with fairness and respect. That is what customer service is supposed to be about.
Thank you,
Ginger

Well the picture did the trick, y’all. Finally somebody saw the light. Amazing.

Dear Ms. Ginger’s Last Name,

Thank you for contacting Teleflora. Please accept our apologies for causing you inconvenience with this order. Please be informed that we have applied a refund of $100.94 to your account. This normally takes 2-3 business days to process and should appear on your next billing statement.

For further inquiries or comments please reply to this address or contact our 24-hour Customer Service hotline at 800-XXX_XXXX.

Sincerely,

John B.

Teleflora

To this, I sent a one word reply: THANK YOU. They replied:

Dear Ms. Ginger’s Last Name,

It has been a pleasure to assist you and we look forward to serving your floral needs in the future.
For further inquiries or comments please reply to this address or contact our 24-hour Customer Service hotline at 800 XXX XXXX.

Sincerely,
Perry S.
Teleflora


I don’t know about y’all, but I don’t think I want to trust them with any more of my “floral needs”.

My apologies to Lisa,  John B. and Perry S. at Teleflora, but y’all are a bunch of idiots.


2 thoughts on “How to Demand a Full Refund for Crappy Looking Flowers

  1. FTD gave me some runaround about how the local florist they used is one of their BEST and someone at the funeral home must have dropped the flowers and tried to rearrange them, then offered to send a replacement bouquet to the recipient’s home.

    Uh, excuse me, but A) the recipient is DEAD and 2) it’s hard to rearrange a live plant with a dying spray of flowers just shoved in it.

    Fortunately, you can call ftd.com on the phone, and I griped so long and loudly I got my refund the same day.

  2. Did you see my note about the florist who Did Not deliver the flowers at all? This was last weekend. I ordered direct from a Visalia Florist, Touch of Roses for my late Uncle’s service. I didn’t mind the long distance call.
    The only reason I know she didn’t deliver them at all is my Sister was there (I am in Oregon and unfortunately *I told her* that I couldn’t come so I didn’t mind the extra $20 for a spray of orchids or the $10 for the 2 mile delivery.)
    Do you suppose she thought that since I wasn’t there no one would be know?She said she was sorry. I said you don’t do that to a like them delivered now?

    Doesn’t anyone have any integrity anymore?

Leave a Reply

