Tuesday Randomness

Thanks to my friend, Jan, over at Jan’s Sushi Bar, I’ve decided to give this here posting every day thing a try, y’all.

It’s called NaBloPoMo,and I can’t believe how long it just took me to write that. Stands for “National Blog Posting Month”. You post something every day for a month.

randomtuesday

Keely, over at Unmom, does this thing.

You post Random Thoughts on Tuesday. That’s it.

I’ve not done very many Random Tuesdays. OK, actually I’ve only done one. So this is random post number two. The reason is, I don’t ever think I can come up with anything random. I never post anything unless I think about it and plan it out for a while. Some of my posts are percolating in my mind for months before I ever get around to writing them.

Speaking of percolating, have I ever told y’all about my husband? He is the sweetest thing, y’all. He gets up every single morning and makes my coffee. Then he brings it in to me, in bed. Then the dog and the cat come in. My dog, a large rottweiler named Hannah sits at the side of the bed, waiting to be scratched, and the cat, Pixie, hops up onto the bed and curls up next to me, waiting to be stroked. At this point, both of my hands are busy petting the fur babies, and I have no way to pick up my coffee cup.

Sigh. I love my life.

Last night my son and his girlfriend came over with my grand baby, Freya. It was the first time she has been in my house, ever. We had a wonderful meal, which my son Ryan prepared while I sat and held my beloved grandchild. It just doesn’t get any better than this, y’all.

IMG_4771

Speaking of my granddaughter, Freya, I am amazed at how many people look perplexed when I tell them her name is Freya. They look at me funny. They say stupid things like, “Where in the world did they come up with THAT name?” and “How in the world do you spell that?”

I don’t get it. I mean Freya is an actual name. She was the Norse Goddess of love and fertility and Friday was named after her. (Yes, I googled it, get over it.) But really. It’s not like they named her some made up name like Neveah (Heaven spelled backwards) or Aquinetta (pronounced like Aqua Net hairspray). So Dear Lord what is the problem?

Now I really do know women named Neveah and Aquinetta, so if that’s your real name, too, I think it’s lovely. Really. I’m just tired of people making comments about the baby’s name. It’s rude y’all.

Another thing that gets on my last nerve is when someone looks at my grand baby’s picture and they say NOTHING. No, “Oh she’s cute” or, just in case they don’t think she’s cute, they could say, “She’s so tiny” or “I’m sure YOU love her to death!” My point is, say something. I love my granddaughter, and I’m proud of her, and if I’m showing you her picture, I must think something of you. The least you can do is comment.

My once-upon-a-time stepsister made a comment. It was: “Do you have any pictures of your dog, Hannah?”

I’m not kidding. I can’t make this stuff up. She really said that. Now I love Hannah. But that was just rude, I don’t care who you are. She might as well of hit me with a sock full of doo doo. (That’s the polite southern nickname for poop, y’all.) Anyway. That’s why she’s no longer my step anything, as far as I’m concerned.

Well this was pretty random, I suppose. Y’all have a great Tuesday. I’m going to go kiss my husband and have some more coffee.

9 thoughts on “Tuesday Randomness

  1. OMG, she did NOT really say that! I would have smacked HER with a sock full of doo-doo.

    I think Freya is a lovely name and she is cuter than a bug’s ear. She is, in fact, beautiful – just like her grandma.

  2. Yay for being random. Freya is a beautiful name and such a cutie! My daughter’s name is Elliot and I get that same stuff… “for a girl? Why you name dat baby Elliot?” Shutty, people. Happy Tuesday.

    I’m “officially” representing Keely today…consider her represented.

  3. I love the name Freya!
    People have mispronounced and questioned my name my entire youth—but as an adult, everyone tells me it’s beautiful and I’m quite happy with it.

    And your daughter is BEAUTIFUL. How can someone NOT say that after seeing her picture??

    • Kaylen is a beautiful name. I have a son named Klinton and he gets a lot of questions about the spelling. And thanks for the compliment…Freya is my GRAND daughter! 🙂

  4. haha you know the dumb questions, well you get used to them.. eventually. welcome to my world! When I was in High School I’d get that level of intelligence questioning such as; why do you spike your hair, or die it blue? what does that tattoo stand for?

Leave a Reply

