Making the Bad Better

Thanks to my friend, Jan, over at Jan’s Sushi Bar, I’ve decided to give this here posting every day thing a try, y’all.

It’s called NaBloPoMo,and I can’t believe how long it just took me to write that. Stands for “National Blog Posting Month”. You post something every day for a month.

spincyclesmallThis week’s Spin Cycle topic is “your favorite post”. It was hard to select a favorite ( I like everything I write, I’m vain like that! ) but this one definitely stands out from the rest. It has the distinction of being the one post with the least views of all time.


My blog will be one year old on August 24th, I have had a total of 10,147views and a grand total of 9 of them were of this post. It also had the honor of receiving zero comments.


It’s no real mystery to me why this particular post, entitled “Mysteries”  received so little attention. I posted this after I lost my beloved grandmother, the author of this poem,  after I had just found out that I was about to become a grandmother, myself! I offered no prelude, or explanation, so it just kind of sat there waiting to be noticed.  Quiet and unassuming, it comes without  fanfare and it asks for none.

And yet, it says volumes. Kind of like my grandmother.

img_4964

Mysteries

As each season passes by,

When rain drops from the sky

Or the sun shines from above

And we feel the warmth of love,

Does not mankind understand?

These are the wonders of His hand.

How the wind stirs the trees

Or lashes out on angry seas

And whips the sand across the dune

Or scurries clouds o’er the moon.

Does not mankind really know?

These are wonders He doth show.

He pulls the shade when there is light

To make the darkness of the night

All our cares and burdens keep

While we rest in blissful sleep

When morn comes, we know someone

Moved the stars, the moon and sun.

If the greatness of this span

Is not enough to convince the man

Let’s ponder on a baby’s birth,

Life and death upon this earth,

Then we surely understand

These are the mysteries from God’s own hand.

by Gladys Parker

6-12-67

img_56321

Rest in Peace, Grandmama Gladys. I will always love you.

6 thoughts on “Making the Bad Better

  1. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, she was such a talent. Especially the part about moving the sun, moon, and stars. Beautiful. Definitely not your worst post, maybe your worst stats, but nothing bad here by any means! You’re linked!

  2. How lovely Ginger.
    I can’t believe your blogging every day for a month WOW! Your bloggy anniversary will be soon.
    Do you know my grandpa used to call me Gladiola?
    He said I looked like the flower… I miss all my grandparents and my dad sooooo much.
    This post and poem was very touching.
    It touched my heart.
    Have a great rest of week Ginger.
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

