My Home Town – Wilmington, North Carolina

DCP_1008

Thanks to my friend, Jan, over at Jan’s Sushi Bar, I’ve decided to give this here posting every day thing a try, y’all.

It’s called NaBloPoMo,and I can’t believe how long it just took me to write that. Stands for “National Blog Posting Month”. You post something every day for a month.

travel_tip_thursdayY’all really ought to visit the lovely and talented Pseudonymous High School Teacher today.  Pseudo, as she’s affectionately referred to, lives in Hawaii on the island of Oahu. Anyhoo, she has started a great meme over at her place called Travel Tip Thursday – every Thursday she and anyone who chooses to participate will do a little “travelogue” about a place close to home.

I’ve been meaning to participate in this, since I feel as if I live in one of the prettiest towns in our nation. I want to introduce all of y’all to my home town, Wilmington, North Carolina. I love it so much that I have another blog called Wilmington Daily Photo. It keeps me busy posting a new photo of the Wilmington area every day. I hope y’all will check it out and see for yourselves why I think this place is so spectacular. In future Thursdays, I will post more about specific things to do and see down here.

About Wilmington

Also known as The Port City, Wilmington was founded in 1739. Once the largest city in the state, it is located on the southeastern coast of North Carolina between the Atlantic Ocean and the Cape Fear River, and minutes away from nearby beaches; Carolina Beach, Kure Beach and Wrightsville Beach.

It is home to the USS NORTH CAROLINA Battleship, the Azalea Festival, the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, the UNCW Seahawks, and the Wilmington Hammerheads. It offers a large  historic district on the riverfront, horse drawn tours, an authentic riverboat, quaint shops, elegantly restored southern mansions, many gorgeous gardens and golf courses, and  Thalian Hall – one of the oldest working theaters in the nation.

The city has been given the nickname “Wilmywood” since it became a major center of American film and television productions. Films such as A Walk To Remember, Blue Velvet, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Empire Records, Cape Fear, Black Knight, 28 Days, The Crow (death place of Brandon Lee), Nights in Rodanthe and the controversial  film Hounddog were produced here, in addition to television shows such as Matlock, Surface, The WB’s Dawson’s Creek and One Tree Hill.

I am proud to live in this beautiful, coastal, Southern town. I was born here, to parents who were born here. My grandmothers, my parents and I all graduated from the same school, New Hanover High. I love this place, and I feel as if the people, the customs, the food, the oak trees, the historic buildings, the battleship, the gardens, the salt air full of screaming sea gulls, and the lonely river that flows through it…are in my blood.

5 thoughts on “My Home Town – Wilmington, North Carolina

  1. I loved this. Thanks so much for sharing your town. We only have been to the South once, but feel in love with it and hope to go back. We stayed for a few days in Savannah before heading down to my sister’s in Florida.

  2. Beautiful! I think many of Nicholis Sparks books take place along the coast there…he is the one that wrote A walk to remember, Nights in Rodanthe and Message in a Bottle that these movies were made from. I have always wanted to visit where you live!

Leave a Reply

