Our Vacation is a Staycation

Thanks to my friend, Jan, over at Jan’s Sushi Bar, I’ve decided to give this here posting every day thing a try, y’all.

It’s called NaBloPoMo,and I can’t believe how long it just took me to write that. Stands for “National Blog Posting Month”. You post something every day for a month.


GetAttachment1

I used to write magazine articles. I actually owned my own magazine, Scene Magazine, which was started by my Uncle, Joe Stanley in 1975. It was a local area magazine, featuring informative article and photographs of the Cape Fear Region. After trying my hand at publishing, which I loved, but found overwhelming, I went to work for Wrightsville Beach Magazine, as the publisher’s assistant and features writer.  While I did a short one year stint there, I wrote an article entitled “How to Have a Vacation In Your own Backyard.”

The premise of this article was this:  a lot of towns, that are considered vacation destinations by out of towners are completely overlooked by the locals.  Here in Wilmington, North Carolina we have a plethora of attractions that are considered worthy of visiting by folks from all over the world. And yet we who live here,  like the plumber with leaky faucets, are the last ones to avail ourselves of what is right under our our noses.

So this year my husband, my 14 year old step daughter, her best friend and I are taking a vacation in my own home town. A “Staycation”… because we are staying home! We are planning to pretend to be tourists. That means we will visit the beaches, the restaurants, the attractions and the shops that we would normally leave for the tourists.

Well, in reality, the “girls” are tourists. My step daughter visits us every year in August, but home for her is in Upstate New York. Her friend has never been here before, so we are having fun showing off the beautiful area that we live in.

We have the next glorious fourteen days off from work! I will be taking pictures and blogging about everything that we see and do; the triumphs, the mistakes and the yawners. Stay tuned.

3 thoughts on “Our Vacation is a Staycation

Leave a Reply

