The Cape Fear Segway Tour – Totally Awesome!

Thanks to my friend, Jan, over at Jan’s Sushi Bar, I’ve decided to give this here posting every day thing a try, y’all. It’s called NaBloPoMo,and I can’t believe how long it just took me to write that. Stands for “National Blog Posting Month”. You post something every day for a month.

It’s ridiculously hard damn near impossible.

IMG_5680

Yesterday, Day 7 of our Staycation, we wanted to give the girls a chance to see our downtown historic district during the daytime. We decided to go ahead and bite the bullet and book a Segway Tour from Cape Fear Segway. This is the number one rated attraction in Wilmington, according to Trip Advisor, so I hoped it would be interesting enough to keep the girls entertained.

It was one of the most amazing things we have ever done!

First they had us watch a little video about some of the hazards and safety precautions of riding a segway. It was pretty amusing watching the little stick figures on the film, falling around in funny mishaps.

Then they gave us a demonstration of the basics of operating these amazing machines. It’s really pretty simple. Step on the footboard when the light is green, hold on with both hands, keep your balance by standing upright. To go forward,  simply lean your weight on the balls of your feet and to slow down, or stop, lean back on your heels. The machine is very intuitive – it will easily follow the commands of your body’s shifting weight.

IMG_5671We were all a little apprehensive at first. It’s just hard to believe that it really can be as easy as the owner, Rich, and our tour guide, Damond, made it seem.

Jeff volunteered to go first and even he was a little unsteady for the first few attempts. Then it was my turn.

The girls hung back and watched me skeptically. Danielle kept saying, “There is no way I’m going to be able to do this!”

It took a few minutes to become acclimated to the “feel” of it.

But after spending only a few minutes learning how to make it move, I was pretty sure I would be able to make it through the tour, y’all.

The girls, however, were not convinced.

This is Damond coaxing Sella along. Danielle is still biting her nails, and telling us “no way I’m doing this!”

IMG_5672

Now it was Danielle’s turn. She tried her best to get out of it, but I told her that if she didn’t want to go with us, she’d have to sit there in the store and wait for us to come back.

IMG_5678

As you can see, that convinced her.

The tour was awesome, we went all over the historic downtown area, and even I learned a few new facts about the beautiful city I grew up in. The girls were bored out of their gourds a little disinterested in the history parts of the tour, so Damond quickly adapted his routine to include more information about places where One Tree Hill stars lived and locations where scenes from the show have been filmed.

IMG_5688

By the end of the tour, which lasted two full hours, after our half hour training class, we all felt like we were segway experts. We were zipping along the riverwalk, waving and smiling at passerbys. As you can tell from the photo, my handsome husband LOVED it.

IMG_5692

It was extremely hot and humid yesterday, so we took a little water break.

IMG_5693

I’ve been bragging lately about how Wilmington is such a haven for movie stars and film locations. Well, while we were having a water break, y’all will never guess who we met!!

Morgan Freeman!!

IMG_5703

Not really. Sorry. His actual name is Thurman.  But isn’t he a dead ringer for Morgan?

This nice gentleman is another Wilmington native, like me. He owns an interesting business called “Jubilee Snooze and Cruise.” This boat is actually a floating bed and breakfast, and he will also let you book a dinner cruise.

We found him to be so charming. Look for me to be posting about a trip on his boat sometime soon!

IMG_5707

I hope y’all enjoyed reading about the segways as much as we enjoyed learning to ride them. If you are ever visiting Wilmington, NC this is the only way to tour the city.

And the best part of the day? The girls spent two and a half whole hours without sending or receiving a single text! Can you believe it? If that’s not an endorsement for this tour, I don’t know what is!

7 thoughts on “The Cape Fear Segway Tour – Totally Awesome!

  1. I was about to start jumping up and down and squeeling – I ADORE Morgan Freeman.

    Ah, well – I’ll have to settle for saying how much fun those Segways look.

    • I really did think he was Morgan Freeman, at first. And he was so funny. He said, “I know what you’re all thinking, and I have to tell ya, I’m not God. That other guy is!”

      He even sounded just like Morgan Freeman.

  2. Pingback: Cape Fear Riverwalk via Segway « Blog Archive « Wilmington Daily Photo

Leave a Reply

