I Heart My Grandmama

Thanks to my friend, Jan, over at Jan’s Sushi Bar, I’ve decided to give this here posting every day thing a try, y’all. It’s called NaBloPoMo,and I can’t believe how long it just took me to write that. Stands for “National Blog Posting Month”. You post something every day for a month.

It’s ridiculously hard ….damn near impossible….a monumental task on the weekends..the biggest challenge of my life so far….can we just say only seven days left?

Yesterday was the last day of our Staycation. We spent it at the beach. Last night we went downtown and took some pictures at Battleship Park, where the kids of One Tree Hill practice basketball, and had dinner at Front Street Brewery.

Since I don’t have much time before we leave for New York, to take the girls home today, I decided to participate in this photo meme.

IMG_3625[1] - Copy (2)

This week’s photo challenge theme on I Heart Faces is nostalgia. Any photo, with a face of course, that brings back feelings of nostalgia. This photo is my Grandmama Gladys. It was taken on her 94th birthday. Last year, when she was 96, she succmbed to congestive heart failure and died in October. It makes me feel nostalgic when I look at this picture, and remember how happy she was on that day.

I miss her terribly.

The straw hat belonged to my older son, Kyle. I was fooling around, trying to get a good picture of this bent over little lady, who was so dear to my heart, but who didn’t always, at 94, have the energy left to show us that little light inside of her heart. On a whim, I stuck this straw hat on her head. Instead of scolding me for “messing up her hair and acting foolish”, which I expected, she burst into this radiant grin.

I thinks she was happy to be the center of our attention that day. Even if it meant sacrificing her proper hair do.

I Heart Faces is a photography sharing forum that focuses on the art of capturing faces and their various emotions. Each week, people from across the world enter their favorite face photos. A judge picks a winning photo from each category that is displayed on the I Heart Faces page.

Click on the button to check out lots of other nostalgic faces, or to enter a photo of your own.

125x125

13 thoughts on “I Heart My Grandmama

  1. She looks so happy and vibrant! Sorry to hear she is gone now, but at least you have some beautiful pictures to remember her with.

  2. Your grandmother has the most beautiful smile!! My grandmother passed away this year. She was also 96. Seeing your picture made me smile, and cry all at the same time. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

