I’ll Drink To That

Thanks to my friend, Jan, over at Jan’s Sushi Bar, I decided to give this here posting every day thing a try, y’all. It’s called NaBloPoMo,and I can’t believe how long it just took me to write that. Stands for “National Blog Posting Month”. You post something every day for a month.

It’s ridiculously hard ….damn near impossible….a monumental task on the weekends..the biggest challenge of my life so far….can we just say only seven days left?…almost over and I have really, really run out of things to saybecome the bane of my existenceworse than I ever imagined it would be…forcing me to dig deep these last few days*sigh* almost over….OVER!


IMG_3192

Well, the month is over, the NaBloPoMo challenge is over and my vacation is over.

We took this photo in Colonial Williamsburg, VA, in Chowning’s Tavern. On the menu, they offered a  Seasonal Brew, that was supposed to give you the authentic experience of drinking a beer in the 18th century, I guess. This mug is what they served the beer in. It was real pretty, but the beer was warm.

Yuck. There is nothing worse than warm beer. But I managed to make the best of it and drink it.

This month was kind of like the warm beer, y’all. Posting on a blog every day is supposed to give you the authentic feeling of being a journalist, I guess. But the main feeling I’ve had all month is, “Oh God! What in the heck am I going to say today?” I managed to make the best of it, but I’m afraid a lot of my posts were kinda like warm beer.

I will admit to being a little intrigued by all the folks who not only have time to post every day, and comment on everyone else’s blogs, but seem to enjoy it. I want to be them. Seriously. I wonder if I will continue to post, not every day, but much more often. Or, maybe I’ll just take a nice long break. I’m sure my husband would be thrilled to have his wife back enjoy having me around a bit more.

My oldest son, bless his heart, has actually started a blog called Daily Computer Tips, to which, unlike me, he posts long, informative and interesting articles each and every day. I don’t know how he does it, but there’s a lot of mysteries about my children that I don’t understand. Anyway, check him out. Today he posted some information about Stumble, which I don’t have time to read because I’m pulling my hair out having too much fun writing this here last blog post of the month.

Jan says she feels a little guilty about all this. She’s southern, so of course she does. I’m southern too, so I feel guilty about making her feel guilty. (It’s our own private hell, y’all. At least we know how to season our vegetables.) It’s OK , Jan. Really. We’re still friends, and I appreciate the fact that you hung in there with me and commented on all of my boring swill delightful daily entries.

And, this gives me a good reason to celebrate with a few drinks! Tomorrow. Which was, incidentally, the NaPoBloMo (damn, I hate typing that!) theme of the month.

Next month’s theme is “Beautiful.” Y’all knock yourselves out. Forgive me if I don’t participate.

3 thoughts on “I’ll Drink To That

  1. They drink their beer warm in Europe – I don’t get it either, but I’m not much of a beer drinker; give me some wine (or better yet, some single malt scotch) any day of the week.

    Can I just say I’m glad it’s over with? We may be Southern and Guilty, but we’re also Stubborn so I guess that makes up for it. I am SO glad to go back to my regularly scheduled M-F posting schedule, that I do believe I’ll celebrate with another glass of wine.

    I’ve gotta have something to feel guilty about now, you know.

  2. Warm beer…yuck! I love a nice cold beer or two on a hot summer day or if I’m in the beer drinking mood. Congrats on making it through the month! I, like you, don’t know how people, that post every single day, do it. If I actually had time to think, had some peace and quiet, wasn’t pulled in so many different directions, wasn’t sleep deprived…ect…just maybe I could do it.

  3. It’s not all that hard posting something everyday, it’s just hard to post something that doesn’t suck. Being unemployed also helps. Once the baby is here and I have a full time job, we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

