Random Shots of My City

I chose these photos for Sunday in My City, a photo forum that has folks posting pictures on Sunday of their cities. I thought Wilmington NC should be included.

To participate, visit Unknown Mami and link up! Let’s visit and travel the world together.

IMG_7538

Last weekend we walked around downtown Wilmington and I enjoyed snapping random shots. This odd looking fellow was guarding the doorway of an eclectic gift store on Front Street.

IMG_7200

A shot of some beautiful orange hibiscus.

IMG_7219

I thought the pier pilings on the Riverwalk had a unique beauty of their own.

IMG_7261

A very distinguished looking gentleman and his date were dining at The Pilot House. (Pssst…..I think he might have been someone famous!)

IMG_7266

Do you remember the scene in the Stephen King movie, Cat’s Eye, when the man was forced to walk a narrow ledge around a high-rise penthouse apartment? The building you can see here, peeking out above the trees is that building. It is called The Murchison Building.

IMG_7338

I think these vines are some kind of peas. They were growing along someone’s fence down by the river.

IMG_7360

I’m not sure what this scary looking creature is supposed to be, but he was begging to have his picture taken.

IMG_7432

Old, wrought iron fencing  is prevalent on the streets of our original downtown district. I think it has a quiet, distinct beauty.

IMG_7377

I really wanted to climb up those steps, “set a spell”, and watch world go by with a tall glass of sweet ice tea.

IMG_7494

There is always someone on this street corner, trying to sell something or entertain you for tips.

Wilmington, North Carolina is a beautiful city; rich in history and natural scenery. As a Wilmington native, I am proud to show off my hometown. I love it so much that I have another blog called Wilmington Daily Photo. It keeps me busy posting a new photo of the Wilmington area every day. I hope y’all will check it out and see for yourselves why I think this place is so spectacular.

12 thoughts on “Random Shots of My City

  1. Look at those beautiful purple pea pods? those are amazing. I love porches too and really miss those living here. I’d love to come and visit your city..it’s beautiful. Have a wonderful day!

  2. I LOVE your day out in your town. It is VERY beautiful! Who do you think the famous person was? His suit was nice that is for sure! I love the porch and the thought of sweet tea! And I even love the palm reader. I wonder what his credentials are for palm reading. Fabulous day! I always love coming to visit you here. It is a joy!

  3. A stroll through Wilmington looks like a walk though Americana. It’s beautiful.

    And those purple peas are really unusual. They’d looks great tucked in a fall floral arrangement.

    Hope you’re having a great Sunday. Thanks for sharing.
    xo

  4. You take gorgeous photos.
    I feel like I spent some time taking a peaceful stroll around your city.

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. We have a time share in Kitty Hawk so we have started to be to know NC. I’ve always heard Wilmington is nice, now I know it is! Lovely photos. Can’t wait to visit.

Leave a Reply

