Really Simple Oyster Dressing

spincyclesmallThis week’s Spin Cycle topic is recipes.

As I mentioned in another post for the Spin Cycle about southern style cooking, my holiday menu doesn’t change much from year to year. I love to try new recipes and I’ll usually try one or two new ones during the holidays, but one thing I absolutely MUST have on the table is my oyster dressing.

I think my oldest son would disown me if I didn’t fix it, y’all.

I’ve been making it for so many years that I cannot remember who’s recipe it was to start out with. My mom always made it, so I’m I’m sure she told me how to make it the first time, and I’ve made a few changes to it over the years. So, as near as I can tell, this recipe is pretty much mine.

So I hope y’all try it sometime and like it.

IMG_1030

This is a photo from last Christmas. My daughter-in-law, Erin, who was pregnant with baby Freya at the time, was helping herself to  a plate of collard greens, mashed potatoes and green bean casserole. She was just getting to the oyster dressing.

Ginger’s Really Simple Oyster Dressing

Chop one onion and two ribs of celery into very small pieces. Steam in 1/2 stick of butter until soft. Meanwhile, boil 3 cups of broth (I have used turkey, chicken and vegetable – all are good!)

Add to the broth two 8 oz. bags of seasoned bread crumbs ( I use Pepperidge Farm Herb Seasoned but cornbread is good, too) and the onion, celery and butter. Add 2 chopped hard boiled eggs, an 8 oz. can of drained, chopped oysters and a 4 oz. can of sliced mushrooms, also finely chopped.

Stir well, and bake at 350 degrees until slightly browned in a 9 x 13 in pan. You may need to add a little more liquid if it seems dry. I usually end up stirring in about a cup of warm water while I’m mixing it.

This can be made the day ahead of time with canned broth. Just make it up, pop it in the refrigerator and bake just before serving.

I’d love to hear what special holiday recipes y’all make, year after year, to keep mutiny breaking out at y’alls‘  houses!

6 thoughts on “Really Simple Oyster Dressing

  1. I’d love to make this, but I have issues with oysters. And plain bread stuffing.

    What do I make to prevent mutiny at Thanksgiving every year? My entire menu.

  2. Would you believe I’ve never had oysters and have no idea what they taste like? This Jewish upbringing didn’t help me in the culinary department since I hear I’m missing something great!
    You’re linked!

  3. Yes, I would probably disown you. It’s the one thing I really can look forward to at Christmas dinner. It is a constant. As long as I have that and turkey and some gravy, I’m good.

Leave a Reply

