Sunday in My Spooky City

I chose these photos for Sunday in My City, a photo forum that has folks posting pictures on Sunday of their cities. I thought Wilmington NC should be included.

To participate, visit Unknown Mami and link up! Let’s visit and travel the world together.

IMG_5015

Wilmington, North Carolina is considered by many to be one of the most actively haunted cities in the world. Once the largest city in the state, Wilmington still has the largest historic district. It has a violent history. During the 18th and 19th century, this Port City has been through the ravages of disease, war, slavery, piracy, savage murders and suicides.

IMG_5003

Although beautiful by day, the city takes on a ghostly aura at night.

IMG_5017

I shot these photos during a Ghost Walk Tour. According to our guide, the building pictured above is the site of an old babies hospital and has been graced with much paranormal activity.

IMG_5035

Is it just me or do these mannequins seem a bit creepy?

IMG_5026

There are definitely some places you want to stay away from. This alley is one of them.

IMG_5049

Even the courthouse takes on a spooky feel at night.

To see more photos of my city, visit my photo blog, Wilmington Daily Photo.

9 thoughts on “Sunday in My Spooky City

    • Thanks Julia! That fountain, in case you were wondering, is in front of the Alfred Lennon Federal Courthouse. Which is the building that was used in the opening scenes of “Matlock”, starring Andy Griffith.

    • The Ghost Walk was fun, but a little on the corny side. Our guide tried too hard to be scary and he just wound up being humorusly over dramatic. But the kids had fun, and I got some interesting photos, so it was worth the time.

  1. A ghost walk sounds sooooo much fun! loved the photos..mannequins have freaked me out ever since I was a little kid and went to shake one of their hands and it fell off:o( LOL

  2. I know Savannah is supposed to have lots of paranormal stuff going on, but I didn’t know Wilmington does as well. Another reason to visit. Great post!

Leave a Reply

