A Grandmother’s Confession

spincyclesmallThis week’s Spin Cycle topic is Parental confessions. We are supposed to confess something about parenthood that we don’t like. And it’s not supposed to be serious.

Well.

I have to be serious, y’all. I mean, we’re talkin’ about the most important job I’ve ever done – raising younguns’. So, I don’t know how to not be serious.

So here’s my confession. What I hated most about being a parent?

THEY GROW.

Yep. You heard me right. They grow. They grow up. They grow out. They grow away.

And one day, that precious little bundle that you were so overjoyed to welcome into your life….is a grown man with a precious bundle of his own.

IMG_0047 - Copy

100_0264

That toddler that you are having to remind for the 100th time to brush his teeth….has a mortgage and a truck that needs tires.

IMG_0097

4236_509529499935_329400245_381882_2934217_n

That young boy that liked to play video games all night long is a physics major.

scan0018 - Copy

l_433f6f5d708d920a7327378d774812f3

And you wonder – where did the time go? Why didn’t I savor every single second? Why didn’t I play that stupid game of Old Maids or Monopoly? Take the night off of work to go to the class play? Read the extra bedtime story? Help with the homework project? Go for more walks around the neighborhood? Bake more cookies? Take them to the library more often?

If you are reading this, and you have young children – cherish these moments. Even though you might be bone tired, and not feel like it, and just want to crawl into bed yourself – read the favorite story again. Play the second game. Sit down and watch the Disney movie with them. Because when they are gone, they’re gone.

If you are blessed with grandchildren, you have a chance to do these things again. Honestly, I think that’s why us grandparents are so damn mushy about our grand babies. It’s our second chance. And, Oh God, how we’ve waited for it.

IMG_2695

5 thoughts on “A Grandmother’s Confession

  1. I was eating my lunch and had to swallow hard to get past the sob that was rising up. I hear you! I don’t want to push Sprite away when she wants to play Chutes and Ladders for the millionth time. I will play every single time. And once in a while? I’ll even let her win.
    You’re linked and I’m encouraged!

    • What you are going through right now seems like it’s going to be forever. Trust me, before you blink an eye, Sprite will be asking you to take time off from work – to be with her while she delivers HER first child!

  2. Oh man this post gave me major goosebumps!! I keep trying to locate the ‘pause’ button, but can’t seem to find it. I’m going to make sure I cherish these moments with Princess Nagger for sure – I’m not looking forward to when she grows up and moves out. It’s going to be awfully quiet and boring around here… 😉 Great spin!

Leave a Reply

