My Favorite Place in the World in Sepia

IMG_6713 - Copy

Do you have a special place that you love, more than any other spot in the world?

Maybe you are like Dorothy in the Wiazard of Oz, and think that “there is no place like home.” Or maybe you are like me, and would rather be at the beach than any other place in the world.

Ever since I was a small girl, I have been visiting the beach in this photo – Wrightsville Beach, NC. I guess you could say it is just like home to me.

What do you feel when you look at this photo? Can  you smell the salty air and hear the birds calling? The wind gently ruffling your hair and the cool sand between your toes? Imagine you are standing near the shore, staring out over the ocean. Do you feel the majestic power in the great expanse of water, and marvel at the mystery? Many scholars think that the Atlantic Ocean, which cover one fifth of the world’s surface, was named after the lost city of Atlantis. Maybe it is the lost souls of Atlantis that tug at my heart and give me the desire to return to the sea.

Mary the Teach has another photo blog, besides Ruby Tuesday. It is called Sepia Scenes. Every Wednesday, she posts a picture in sepia, and invites everyone else to do the same. She also has a tutorial on her blog on how to produce good photos in sepia. I you are into photography, like I am, go on over and check it out.

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Place in the World in Sepia

  1. That is a marvelous shot and yes – I experience all of those things when I look at it.

    Heading over to read the tutorial about sepia photos; I’ve been looking for one.

  2. I think the image is all the stronger because it is in sepia. I have an intense meeting today at school, so it’s nice to take in the Atlantic to start my day with a moment of calm. BTW, Catherine Sherman on my blogroll is also an avid photographer. I think you’d enjoy her photos.

  3. Oh yes, love the photo. And yes it takes me to a place of peace and warmth when I look at it. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful place. Hopefully someday I will get there again!

  4. Definitely something so calming and hypnotic about the sea. Sometimes I have to drive over and just go look; it’s one of the best things about living on an island. We are surrounded by it.
    I love the sepia. It gives it a different but classic look.

  5. Pingback: You Capture Water « When Ginger snaps…..

Leave a Reply

