The Pearls I Could Not Buy

This week’s Spin Cycle topic is Thankful.  Who, or what we are thankful for. My three sons are always what I am most thankful for. After that, I am thankful for my marriage to my second husband.

Today is especially poignant because it is my nine year wedding anniversary and my oldest son just called to tell me that his wife, who has been in the hospital with pre eclampsia since Friday, is being induced today.

That means, with any luck, y’all, my anniversary is also going to be my grandson’s birthday!!

You are the trip I did not take;
You are the pearls I cannot buy;
You are my blue Italian lake;
You are my piece of foreign sky.

My oldest son, Kyle, was born on October 19, 1978. I wrote the above verse in his baby book. Then I went on to have two more boys. They were all precious to me then, and they are still precious to me now. They have been, and always will be, the loves of my life. I knew when I first held Kyle in my arms that I was never going to be rich, never going to be famous and never going to be able to see the world.

I also knew that looking into his little eyes, and feeling his little fist curl around my finger, was far more rewarding than anything else would ever be.

Today, Kyle is going to become a parent. In a few hours, he will know the secret that the rest of us parents know. That nothing else he has done so far in his life can compare to this. And that from today on, his life is forever changed.

100_0074

My youngest, Klinton, is a currently Physics Major a ECU. He recently wrote this:

“In the laboratory setting, the more common unit of pressure is measured not in
atmospheres (atm) but is in units called torr. One atm will support a column of mercury 760
millimeters. One torr will support a column of mercury one millimeter. The purpose for using
high vacuum methods with the accelerator is to reduce air pressure within a chamber; lower
pressure within a chamber creates a greater mean free path. Mean free path refers to the average
distance between the interactions of two gas molecules in a given area.”

See? He’s practically a genius. He has to be, because who else could understand any of that, much less write it? Not only is he is able to understand complex scientific theories, but he can just as easily offer solutions to  complex relationship problems. He has a knack of being able to see things from everyone else’s point of view, and this has made him our family peace-keeper on may occasions.

A bit of a dare devil, his adventures have included jumping out of an airplane, touring France and camping on the side of a mountain in the wintertime. He is fearless, whether he is confronting a physical challenge or an agitated border guard wearing a gun!

He was very active in drama in high school, and when asked to star in the play during his senior year, Klinton tackled that task with his usual, good nature and fearless aplomb. Most young men would have been mortified to dress as a bunny rabbit and stand on stage delivering hundreds of lines form memory, but not my confident youngest son! Not only was he hilarious, but he was the handsomest rabbit since Bugs Bunny.

Speaking of that, he’s so handsome that it almost hurts my eyes to look at him. He was once asked to be a double for one of the leading men of One Tree Hill. And his girlfriend is not too shabby either, is she?

My middle son, Ryan, is a master of thinking outside the box. When he was little, he couldn’t understand why it mattered if he wore his sweater upside-down and inside-out, and he is still questioning why we do things the way we do today. He is adamantly opposed to simply accepting the norm, whether it be our government, our dress styles, or what we eat.

He is a talented guitarist and a music composer. As a member of a Ska band, The Madd Hatters, he has played at the famous CBGB’s in New York City. He has also recorded music as a “one man band” and occasionally is a street entertainer. As a chef for the movie studio, he has cooked for and served celebrities such as Queen Latifa and  he can cook a meal that can rival any famous chef out there!

This past year he had a daughter and I have never seen a man be more tender with a baby than he is with Freya. His devotion to her, and to his beliefs, is awe inspiring. He may never become rich or famous, but there are few men that can hold a candle to his determination, his unique outlook, his willingness to make sacrifices and his strength of character.

In other words, I would be proud of him and love him like crazy, even if he hadn’t given me the prettiest grand daughter on the face of the earth!

And then there is Kyle, my first love and the oldest brother. Always the most serious, the most responsible, the most protective because that’s what the oldest child just does. His brothers know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that no matter how much they may irritate Kyle, or get on his nerves….Kyle will always be there for them if they ever need their big brother.

It was evident that my son Kyle was  incredibly smart, when he was still in diapers. He had a vocabulary at a year old that a lot of adults will never attain. He taught himself to read before he was four by studying Scrabble tiles. He was at the top of his class in high school, a member of the debate team and graduated with honors.

He was offered a scholarship to study law, but he was only seventeen at the time. When he decided that he was ready to hunker down and go to college, he was on the President’s List and graduated in the top 10 percent of his class.

IMG_1967

Like his younger brothers, he always has a unique and refreshing outlook and I can always count on him to have a strong, definite opinion on any topic imaginable. I value his advice more than advice from men twice his age. He is a solid, dependable rock of a man – and a  loving, protective husband. I know he will be a phenomenal father to his soon-to-be-born son.

And on top of all that, he married the sweetest, most wonderful, family oriented girl I’ve ever met. I couldn’t love her more if she was own daughter and I love how excited she is about becoming a mother to my grandson!

So as y’all can see, I have so much to be thankful for. I have been blessed with a wealth that far exceeds earthly riches or fame. My children are all, each one in his own unique way, impressive. They are all  different but they all share the qualities of being intelligent, talented, courageous, loyal and strong.

I love you, my pearls, my sons – Kyle, Ryan and Klinton.

But today my heart, my prayers and my time is going to be with this beautiful jewel.

When y’all hear form me again, this lovely smiling woman will have made me a grandma….again!

Erika, I love you, Honey. I’m so happy that your life-long dream of having a child… is about to come true.

5 thoughts on “The Pearls I Could Not Buy

  1. OH goodness yes, let’s hope she will be ok and b aby too. I just said a prayer. I very much enjoyed reading about your boys. They are all so smart and talented. Looks like they were allowed to truly develop their talents. I very much admire you for that.

    Happy Anniversary. And I am nuts about you too!

  2. What a beautiful, beautiful tribute to your wonderful sons.

    And I’m so excited for you! Having been induced with Darling Daughter, I can almost guarantee you’ll be a grandma again today! (Like maybe in four hours. Yeah.)

    Congratulations, Ginger! What a day you are having!

  3. I am blubbering over here! Your sons have grown to be wonderful men (and gorgeous to boot!) and you’re about to be a repeat grandma? Many blessings to you and your family which is about to grow by 1!
    You’re linked! Now go be with Erika!

  4. Pingback: He’s HERE!!!! « When Ginger snaps…..

Leave a Reply

