You Capture My Happy Story

I found a new photo blog to participate in on Thursdays! It’s called You Capture. Every week there is a new theme. This weeks was “Your Happy Story.”

Click on the link here to read about how to play along. Then do your best to visit the other participants’ sites – everyone loves the traffic, the comments and the feedback (not just you!) Next week’s photo challenge is Lines! I have no clue what that is going to be, but I’m curious to find out.

My oldest son and his wife have been married for four years. That is a long time to be trying to have a baby, when you are in your thirties. My beautiful daughter-in-law has wanted a baby more than anything else in the world, for as long as she can remember.

This picture was taken last month at their baby shower. Kyle is holding a sign that I ordered for them, with the baby’s name and the words, “Dreams Do Come True.”

Kole was due January 1, so we thought we were going to have a New Year’s baby. Then Erika developed preeclampsia and had to be hospitalized in the middle of November.

She didn’t even have time to finish putting her shower gifts away, y’all.

This is my husband and myself on our anniversary, the day before Thanksgiving. I got a call that morning from Kyle, saying Erika was being induced that day! All of a sudden, it looked like we were going to have an Anniversary baby!

We spent the whole day at the hospital, waiting. At dinnertime, she was not very far along (still) so we went out to dinner at our favorite restaurant.

Thanksgiving morning, she was still in labor. Thankfully, my mother-in-law was fixing our meal, so I didn’t have to cook. Thanksgiving Day was spent at the hospital, still waiting.

At suppertime, she was still not very far along, so we went to have Thanksgiving dinner with family.

We returned to the hospital at 10 pm. Kyle met us at the door of Erika’s room.

“They are prepping her right now for a C section,” he said.

He weighed in at just barely fives pounds. I took this photo right after he was born and I still can’t believe that a face so tiny could be so expressive.

It was a couple of days before mom was strong enough to visit him.

And I was not too happy about having to wait to hold him. It was a few days before he was strong enough to be held. But, as you can see, it was worth the wait!

Kyle is already a wonderful Daddy to the little guy. He has been with him every minute, filling in for Erika until she was strong enough to visit him in the Newborn Intensive Care Unit at the hospital.

And so, that is my happy story about how, at 11:04 pm last Thursday night, our New Year’s/Anniversary baby became, instead, our Thanksgiving baby! And we are so darn thankful for him.

Welcome to the world, little Kole.

10 thoughts on “You Capture My Happy Story

  1. Since he was nearly five pounds at birth, he shouldn’t be in the NICU for very long. Have they given you an ETA on when he’ll be coming home?

    Congratulations again, Grandma! He is just precious!

  2. What a beautiful heart warming story! Brings tears to my eyes…such preciousness in that sweet face and such joy and love on his parents faces and grandma and grandpa’s too! 🙂 Congrats again. This really is something to celebrate and be happy about. Little Kole has to be the best Christmas gift anyone could ask for! XX Lori

  3. Ginger, it’s been awhile since I’ve visited (life and Facebook have kept me from my blog-tour). I love all these pictures! And knowing the challenges Erika and Kyle face to get to this moment, it brings tears to my eyes seeing them (and you!) so happy with their new little guy. I’m so happy for all of you!

    Oh and I’m hoping to get Part 4 of trip to Malta up soon. Seems I’ve been plagued with problems though…first my laptop went on the fritz and now my internet is down (I’m borrowing it from the neighbors on my old laptop, but can’t connect with the desktop…where all the pictures are).

    • Hi Limey! Great to hear from you! I know I’ve been sucked in by Facebook lately, too. Thanks for the well wishes to my little man. He weighs 6 pounds now! I hope you get your internet back up again soon. I know I couldn’t make it without mine!

Leave a Reply

