Sunrise Memories in Sepia

This is a photo of Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina, early one morning at sunrise. I have a ton of photos like this, but this is one of my favorites. I like the sepia tones. It gives it a timeless feeling. It looks pretty good in color, too.

Do y’all know that feelin’ you get when you’ve met someone new and you discover that they like everything except dancing all the same things you do? When I met my husband almost ten years ago, we immediately established that we both loved, loved, loved the beach. We  talked about movies and we both said A Few Good Men was our all time favorite.

But what clinched the deal for me, the moment when I just knew that I knew that he was the one, was when I told him I had always wanted to watch the sun come up over the ocean, but had never had anyone that was romantic enough willing to get up that early and go with me. And this is obviously not something you’d do by yourself, right?

What he said next was that moment, y’all.  He said, “Well you’ve got somebody now! Let’s go tomorrow morning!”

Another crazy thing we had in common? We both loved to take photographs, and he insisted on bringing his camera that next morning. So not only did I get to experience a lifelong fantasy, but we have pictures of it, to boot!

Since then we have spent many mornings at Wrightsville Beach, drinking coffee (or Bloody Marys) watching the sunrise and reminiscing. It will always be our special place.

Mary the Teach has another photo blog, besides Ruby Tuesday. It is called Sepia Scenes. Every Wednesday, she posts a picture in sepia, and invites everyone else to do the same. She also has a tutorial on her blog on how to produce good photos in sepia. If you are into photography, like I am, go on over and check it out.

5 thoughts on “Sunrise Memories in Sepia

  1. See… I have no problem whatever watching (and photographing) a sunrise over the ocean by myself. Done it many times in fact. I finally decided that if there was something I wanted to do I was gonna do it. And if someone else wants to come along, great. But I’m not gonna let the lack of someone else keep me from it. Not any more.

    All that said, one of the all-time Top 4 Memories Of My Life involves Topsail Island (albeit not at sunrise) — and someone truly special.

  2. What a lovely story! Even though we are only about 45 minutes from the shore (I live in the Ocean State, doncha know)I haven’t taken any photos there in years. Your beautiful sunrise in sepia inspires me to get down there and soon!

Leave a Reply

