A Segway Tour of My City

I chose these images for Sunday in My City, a photo forum that has folks posting pictures on Sunday of their cities. I thought Wilmington, NC, should be included.

Wilmington is a beautiful city, rich in history and natural scenery. As a Wilmington native, I am so proud to show off my hometown.

I love it so much that I have another blog called Wilmington Daily Photo. It keeps me busy posting a new photo of the Wilmington area every day. I hope y’all will check it out and see for yourselves why I think this place is so spectacular.

These shots were taken on a recent segway tour with Cape Fear Segway. The two-hour tour takes you through part of the historic district and gives you a chance to look into the yards and gardens of some of the oldest homes in the city.

The architectural features on some of our older homes are simply stunning.

This is our group posing in front of the Graystone Inn, one of Wilmington’s popular Bed and Breakfast Inns. This palatial mansion, built in 1906, is one of the most imposing structures downtown and a historic landmark.

We had a blast riding the segways and it is an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon. A Segway, also called a Ginger or Personal Transport (PT,) is a two-wheeled transportation device related to a scooter.  Some experts believe the Segway is a revolutionary technology that will change transportation in the world, while others consider it a glorified scooter of real use only to technology fans.

To participate in Sunday in My City, visit Unknown Mami and link up! Let’s visit and travel the world together.

6 thoughts on “A Segway Tour of My City

  1. Wow. Such beautiful photos. I think this is a place I would love to see in person. Amazing. I especially like the old architecture. Thanks for sharing these!

  2. Using the segways for a tour sounds like a total blast!!!! You get to see so much more that way. (Another great idea I didn’t think of 🙂

    It’s easy to see why you love your city so much. It’s beautiful. And the sweet girl statue in the garden made me smile!

    Happy SIMC
    jj

  3. I remember you posting about the segway tour last summer – it sounded like so much fun!

    You make me want to come to Wilmington; it looks like such a beautiful, beautiful city.

  4. I stumbled across your blog completely by accident. I was doing research on the segway tour. I often visit Wilmington, (I am doing so this weekend), and hope to move back there in the future.
    I have never visited a blog before, much less commented on one. I have very much enjoyed your blog. Your sense of humor, your artisitic photographs, and your discriptive writings have captured my attention. From one southern gal to another, Kudos. Thanks, and keep writing. Chris

Leave a Reply

