Sunday in the Blue Ridge Mountains

I chose these images for Sunday in My City, a photo forum that has folks posting pictures on Sunday of their cities. I usually post pictures of my town, Wilmington, NC. But I have so many photos of other places in North Carolina, that I decided to do something different.

These are some of my favorite pictures from our trip this year to the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. I fell in love with the funky, old, fifties-style signs that I saw everywhere.  I took so many pictures of just signs that, well, I had to do something with them. So, a photo collage!

If you click on the image, you can see a bigger version of it.

Here are some of the photos with a little bit of explanation.

This is typical of the road side stands that you will see in the North Carolina mountains. Pork rinds and boiled peanuts are popular items. Don’t knock ’em ’til you’ve tried ’em, y’all!

The purpose of our trip was to drive our new red corvette on the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Tail of the Dragon at Deals Gap. On the border of North Carolina and Tennessee, Deals Gap is a popular and internationally famous destination for motorcyclists and sports car drivers. It is located along the 11-mile stretch of two-lane road known as “The Dragon” or the “Tail of the Dragon”, which has a stunning 318 curves!

This is a photo of the Tree of Shame, which is a collection of parts from motorcycles that have crashed on the ride, all nailed randomly to the large oak tree.

I couldn’t resist getting a close up of this part, left by a female rider. Please forgive the *ahem* very unladylike  language.

The Blue Ridge Parkway is a scenic drive of  469 miles connecting the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in North Carolina to the Shenandoah National Park in Virginia. It features stunning views, abundant hiking trails, picnic areas, campsites,  interpretative exhibits and many areas to pull off the road and take photos. Known as “Overlooks,” these areas often include a short hiking trail that allows you to get off the highway and explore the natural surrounding on foot.

It was at one of the overlooks that I wandered a bit back into the woods and discovered this cross. It appeared to be marking a grave, and the whole experience was a little creepy. Especially the name, Luther.

This photo was taken on the Cherohola  Skyway.  I apologize for the poor quality of this one, but it was hastily snapped through the window of the car. All the arrows in the signs caught my eye.

I’m thinking the Warrior Hotel hasn’t changed their sign since about 1962! And they have electric heat and air!

My husband thought it would be real funny to get a picture of me in front of this sign, y’all.  This isn’t just a great picture for Halloween. This is an actual overlook on the Blue Ridge Parkway. I have no idea why it is named the Big Witch.

These signs made me hungry.

This sign, one of hundreds just like it, is what you see on the Tail of the Dragon. It is like driving on a roller coaster in your car.

We stopped at this little store for gas, and a bottle of water. Inside, they have absolutely everything. I would tell you where it is, but we were hopelessly lost. The man sitting on the porch found us to be very amusing.

Happy Halloween, y’all!

To participate in Sunday in My City, visit Unknown Mami and link up! Let’s visit and travel the world together.

11 thoughts on “Sunday in the Blue Ridge Mountains

  1. GREAT photos! Especially the Big Witch Overlook. How appropriate for this holiday. Thanks for the laugh. AND, I love the Warrior Motel sign too. Makes me think of my childhood when all the the signs along the road on family vacations were just so awesome and fun.

    DI

  2. Love the journey here. That tree of shame is pretty cool. I haven’t had pork rinds in years and I don’t know why because I do love them. Now that you reminded me, I’ll have to go buy some. That big witch overlook is quite interesting as well. I’d love to know the meaning behind that. Great shots.

  3. Georgous pictures! Makes me want to hop in the car and go see it for myself! Thanks for sharing. I do remember the motel signs of the 60’s!

  4. Oh my gosh those are fantastic photos!! I miss the corn. Here they sell teenie pieces of corn in the store for about 5-6 american dollars. It’s so sad. The tree of shame is soooo cool..lol

Leave a Reply

