A Post a Day? Lawd Help Me!

Hey y’all. Can you believe it’s a new year, 20011? Today’s date looks funny to me, 1/1/11. I still haven’t gotten used to it being in the 2000’s. I guess I thought that at least the year was always going to have that comfy 19.. in front of it, kind of like I thought I would be in my twenties forever.

Bless my biscuits, things have changed.

I started this here blog in August of 2008. And here is what I said about it at the time:

“There are so many topics floating around in my head that have been waiting, for years, to get out. How can I decide where to start? Should I write about my job, my marriage, my children, my dog, my past, my mistakes, my accomplishments, my hopes and dreams, my fears, my goals, my opinions about life, how I was raised, how I’ve been mistreated, how I’ve been adored, why I think manners are so important, or why I have such a hard time making decisions?”

I have written about a few of these things, written about a lot of other things and posted more photos than I ever thought possible. I have made a few friends along the way, learned to make some tough decisions on what to put out there for the (potentially) Whole Dern World to read, and probably withheld a lot more of myself than I should have.

It’s just that….sometimes…all the damn time….I can’t figure out how to get started. The problem is – what in the heck to write ABOUT? I mean, some days there are thousands of things floating around in my head, all fighting to get out. Some other days? Nothing.

But now, finally, I feel like it’s time to dust myself off, quit lying around in the pool of indecision and WRITE something, anything, for crying out loud!

Today I log onto my blog’s host, WordPress.com, and I find out they are starting a new thing for this year. It’s called The Post Every Day Challenge. It starts TODAY, y’all! Right diggity-dang NOW!

I feel like I just walked into Belk’s and heard an announcement that all ladies shoes are on sale at 75% off… for one hour only. I mean, when does this ever happen, y’all? I’m always there a week later, or I have to hear all about it from my mother – how she found five pairs of new dancing shoes and only paid $23.19 cents for the lot of them, after using her newspaper coupon and her senior citizen’s discount.

Ahem.

And the best part? Wait for it……They’re going to give us a topic to write about every day! Today’s topic is to write about three countries you want to visit. (OK, so I’m not technically following the rules yet, but, well, who really cares?)

Anyways, ain’t I special for getting in on the ground floor of this challenge? Or? Maybe I just ain’t had enough sleep from working night shift all week and my brain is easily fooled into thinking things like this. At any rate, I’m going to start this challenge, today, 1/1/11, and see where it takes me.

Y’all are all welcome to come along for the ride!

2 thoughts on “A Post a Day? Lawd Help Me!

  1. Pingback: The Uncomfortable Truth About Blogging | When Ginger snaps…..

Leave a Reply

