2010 in review

As I posted yesterday, I’ve decided to take the WordPress challenge of blogging every day. It’s called The Daily Post. Today’s topic is “Who deserves more credit.”  Right now, I’m thinking WordPress deserves a lot of credit, because they have given me today’s post….Ta Da!

And I didn’t even have to struggle over what to write about!

This came in an email, y’all, and it’s a summary of how well my blog did last year. According to these stats, I really should be posting more pictures of my feet,  and writing about the Pirates (ECU’s football team.)

 

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how” When Ginger snap…”  in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 7,600 times in 2010. That’s about 18 full 747s.

 

In 2010, there were 48 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 284 posts. There were 261 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 500mb. That’s about 5 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was November 8th with 331 views. The most popular post that day was Sunday After the Pirates Lost.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were iheartfaces.blogspot.com, boneyardbanter.com, ishouldbefoldinglaundry.com, theblueridgegal.com, and iheartfaces.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for eco baby shower, how to be a good grandmother, red toes, ginger and sleep, and simple oyster dressing.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Sunday After the Pirates Lost November 2010
6 comments

2

Red Toes for Ruby Tuesday April 2009
10 comments

3

How To Plan an Eco-Baby Shower, (without going crazy!) August 2009
4 comments

4

How To Be A Good Grandmother August 2009
6 comments

5

About Ginger…a sleep deprived, North Carolina gal, y’all. August 2008
30 comments

 

What are some of the things y’all have blogged about that bring you the most traffic? I need some suggestions to help me get my “747” off the ground in 2011!

4 thoughts on “2010 in review

  1. A post a day is what I have long practiced. Sometimes I truly wish someone would give me the topic for the day. But then again, I’m a rebel and would probably not listen to their suggestion anyway. LOL

    Good luck with your post a day! I have faith that you can do this with no problem.

    Di
    The Blue Ridge Gal
    P.S. Hubby is interviewing in South Carolina and Wisconsin so it’s pretty likely that we will be leaving the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia.. boo hoo.

  2. I tried to find this Blog Health-O-Meter, and it appears you have to have your blog hosted with WordPress.com to get it. Rats.

    At any rate, from what I can tell from my stats, my recipes are viewed the most – right now, the one for macaroni salad seems to be the most popular, closely followed by Amish Friendship Bread.

    I’m just living on the edge, here.

    • Di, I hope your move is everything you need for it to be. If you wind up in SC, you will still be near me, and the weather down here is WONDERFUL!

  3. Jan, you do have to be on WordPress. They have some pretty nice features, just sayin. And one of my most popular posts, especially around the holidays, is really Simple Oyster Dressing. People like food, go figure! How’s the cook book project going?

Leave a Reply

