My Bucket List: A Mellow Monday on Siesta Key

Well, here it is Monday, y’all. It’s raining here; cold and dreary. Day 17 of the Daily Post Challenge. Today’s topic is Hope.

Mondays are kind of depressing. The start of the work week for most folks and all. For me, a Monday can be the first day of a four-day week, a day in the middle of a seven-day break, Turn Around Monday (a day “in between” working three days and three nights)  or a day like today: My last night of work before having three days off.

Working nights is the worst. What gives me hope and keeps me going?  I have a “Bucket List” in my head of all the places I want to experience before I die.  I love to day-dream about it while I’m working nights.

Last Monday was terrific, as Mondays go. It was a Seven-Day-Break Monday. We spent it driving from Vero Beach, Florida to Key West. On Tuesday, we drove from Key West over to the west coast of Florida to a  heavenly little place called Siesta Key.

Siesta Key has been on my “Bucket List” for years. I knew it was beautiful  when my Uncle Joe visited it and said, “This is it. This is where I will retire.” And thanks to him, and his splendid retirement choice,  he has provided me with a place to stay there.

It more that lived up to my expectations, y’all. Famous for “The World’s Finest Whitest Sand”, the color of the water (a perfect calming blue) and the sunset was nothing short of spectacular. I can’t wait to go back.

Yes, I have added a new item to my “Bucket List” which keeps getting longer, by the way. Instead of just seeing Siesta Key, I want to return to spend a few days there, lying on the pristine white sand, with an umbrella drink in my hand.

This is a photo I took of one of the lifeguard shacks. There are several dotting the shore, and each one is a different color. My aunt says it’s because that way you can tell your friends, “I’ll meet you at the red lifeguard stand, or, I’ll meet you at the blue one.”

Me? I’ll meet y’all at this fabulous yellow one, OK?

Mellow Yellow Monday is a photo forum. You post something yellow on Monday. “Because life is better with a splash of yellow.”

Be sure and visit the other participants to see how creative everyone is with their yellow shots. You’ll be amazed, y’all!

Well, if not amazed, then mellowed out. Maybe a bit more hopeful, too. How’s that for a Monday?

5 thoughts on “My Bucket List: A Mellow Monday on Siesta Key

  1. I want to visit the Keys in the worst possible way, but have no Uncle to provide accommodations, which are obscenely expensive, especially during the winter months, which is when I’d want to go.

    The yellow lifeguard shack makes me want to don a pair of sunglasses and lay on a beach towel. I would if I didn’t think The Young One would call the local funny farm.

    • Actually, Jan, Siesta Key is no “in” the Keys and I think there a plethora of affordable places to stay. Siesta key is a small island just off the west coast, a stone’s throw from Sarasota, Florida. And thanks for the mental image of you lying on a towel. Made me giggle!

  2. Anything with the words heat, warm, sand, or sun in it is welcome right now. We have had such a cold winter, even before it was officially winter.

  3. Pingback: The Red Stand for Ruby Tuesday | When Ginger snaps…..

Leave a Reply

