French Toast and Bacon for Macro Monday

OK, this picture is makin’ me hungry, y’all!

This was the breakfast of raisin bread french toast and bacon that I had last month in Key West. The place where we stayed, The Inn at Key West, has a little cafe that serves delicious food in an elegant-but-casual al fresco spot by the lushly tropical swimming pool. They also have a Tiki Bar right by the pool, which just happens to be the largest swimming pool in all of Key West!

If you are looking for a reasonable, but upscale place to stay in Key West, I highly recommend the Inn and the Cafe for breakfast. I found this little jewel by (how else?) doing a search on the internet. I used TripAdvisor to read what other real people like me thought of the place. I able to view real photos that real people have taken. As opposed to, you know, the glossy magazine quality ones that are displayed on every single website for every single hotel, restaurant or anything else you might want to buy for that matter. The Inn at Key West got very good reviews on TripAdvisor and, as usual, I was not disappointed.

Today’s topic on the Daily Post is “Can you live without the internet?”  In a word, no.

There are too many reasons to list. Besides the fact that I use it to make all my travel plans, including hotel reservations, car rentals and decisions on which restaurants to try; I also balance my checkbook, pay my bills, order Christmas and birthday gifts, print and manage photos,  stay in touch with family, spy on my kids, read the news, watch TV shows that I missed, order books for my Kindle and post pictures of my grandchildren until you all want to throw up in your mouths. The internet has become so much a part of my life that I actually go about my day thinking of, and making notes on my “To Do” list, what I want to look up and what I want to post. I’m also constantly look for opportunities to take photos that I know I will use later for various photo memes.

While I was sitting by the pool in Key West enjoying my french toast, I suddenly grabbed my camera out of my bag and started focusing on my food. My husband is accustomed to all of this by now. He sat silently observing me, while the expensive camera lens hovered dangerously close to the sticky syrup.

Finally, with a raised eyebrow, he said, “Macro Monday?”

If you love photography, you have probably already discovered the fun of taking macro photos. I do and I have. I really want to buy a fancy macro lens, but I’ve found that using my regular lens that came with the camera, I can still get some pretty decent shots.

Um, as long as I stay out of the syrup.

I’ve been so lazy about posting (before I started the Daily Post Challenge on January 1st) that I haven’t participated in Macro Monday since November 1st! However, as my husband will attest, I have taken lots of a bazillion  macro photos, so I will be all set for several every Mondays to come.

For Macro Monday, you take a close up picture that you think is blog-worthy, post it, and link back to Macro Monday so everyone can visit everyone! That’s southeren-eese for leave each other comments, if you know what’s good for ya.

4 thoughts on “French Toast and Bacon for Macro Monday

  1. Oh, good grief – what’s with all the pics of French toast today?

    I’m hungry, and I don’t even eat bread anymore. Although I’ll take that bacon. Thanks.

    Could I live without the internet? I’ll answer “No” after I’ve finished laughing hysterically.

Leave a Reply

