Yee Haw, Y’all!

I’m so thrilled, so flabbergasted, so excited  cain’t hardly BREATH, y’all! Today was one of those Red-Letter-Mark-Your-Calender Days –  I got chosen to be on the front page of WordPress’s Freshly Pressed!

What makes it so gooses-bumpy excitin’ is that the folks over at Freshly Pressed picked a blog post of mine (Going Home) that just happens to be about my favorite subject – my hometown of Wilmington, North Carolina! I am so passionate about this beautiful spot of earth, that I used to own and publish a magazine about it! Called Scene Magazine, started by my dear Uncle Joe in 1975, it was a tribute to the people, the places and the beauty of my hometown.

As of the time of this writing, I have had 1032 visitors today, and have gotten 38 comments. A good day for me is about 40 visitors and five or six comments, so this is extraordinary!

Many of today’s comments have been about my dear, departed Grandmama Gladys. An artist, a writer, a poet,  a life-long Wilmingtonian who lived to be a ripe old age of 96, and quite possibly one of the world’s best Southern cooks, she was my inspiration and my teacher. Many of my blog posts have been about her, and I have another blog, called Rock of Gibraltar, that is about the story of her life, and showcases many of her poems.

As I read through the comments today, I could not stop the sudden rush of tears, and the feeling that, somehow, she knows and she is proud of me.

Oh, and the photo of the little cutie-pie in the cowboy hat? Yesterday my grandson, Kole, had some glamour shots taken at a wonderful photography studio here, in Wilmington.

Y’all should have seen me, and the crazy things I was doing to get him to smile! Jumping up and down, waving a blue feather  boa around, holding a toy in my teeth while growling like a dog and lying cheek-down against the carpet, hiding my big ole head behind a large block so I could play “peep-eye.”

Anyways, it was successful session, judging by the amount of photos I have to buy frames for, and I feel like the World’s Most Accomplished Grandma for all the smiles I coaxed out of him.

He smiles quickly and easily when he sees me. He’s my pride and joy, and I can’t wait to introduce him to all that our southern hometown has to offer. After all, what else are Grandmas for?

5 thoughts on “Yee Haw, Y’all!

  1. Congratulations. Hang on to that glorious Freshly Pressed feeling for as long as you can. I’ve only read a couple of posts so far but your blog is really beautiful.

  2. I responded to this yesterday, dammit.
    I SAID congratulations again … and I SAID that is the best little boy cowboy picture that I do believe I’ve ever seen! I ❤ Kole!

Leave a Reply

