Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow

He that dwelleth in the secret place of the Most High shall dwell under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in Him will I trust. Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence. He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust : his truth shall be thy shield and buckler. Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day. Psalm 91: 1 – 6

Katie Lloyd Photography has a weekly photo challenge  that begins on Sunday,  Scripture & a Snapshot. And his week’s photo challenge on WordPress is “Shadow.”

This photo was taken at the highest point east of the Mississippi River, Mount Mitchell, near Asheville, North Carolina. The elevation is over 5000 feet. The day this photo was taken was a pleasant summer day. But when we drove up to the top of Mt. Mitchell and walked to the summit on foot, the air was cold and thin and the gathering storm clouds were ominous. It was as though we had entered another world.

The silence, the majesty, the imposing view took my breath away. I felt like we had stumbled into God’s “secret place” and I was definitely aware of being in the presence of  something much bigger than me. The rest of the world seems to melt away when you are on the top of a mountain. You are humbled at the creation of  a mighty God.

When I am afraid, or feeling lost, I like to imagine myself back on the top of this mountain. Like other “mountain top” experiences in my life, it brings me back to a feeling of being centered.

It calms me to imagine being under the “shadow” of the wings of God, and to believe that God is in control. Not only of my circumstances, but  of all our lives, all of our decisions and even of the disturbing events out there in our big world.

 

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow

Leave a Reply

