The Story of the Dogwood Tree

God writes the gospel not in the Bible alone, but on trees and flowers and clouds and stars.  ~Author unknown, commonly attributed to Martin Luther

We had our Annual Azalea Festival down here in Wilmington, North Carolina last week. It’s truly a breath-taking time of year when the flowers and trees are blooming. I love the dogwood tree’s white blossoms almost as much as I love the azaleas.

They always remind me of Easter, not only because they bloom this time of year, but because of the story that is told about them.

Do you see how the center of the flower looks like a tiny crown?

It is widely believed that the dogwood tree was the tree that was used to make the cross that Jesus died on. Because of its firmness and strength it was selected as the timber for the cross, but to be put to such a cruel use greatly distressed the tree.

When Jesus saw that the tree was suffering from being used for such a hideous purpose, He changed the size and shape of the tree forever, causing it to grow crooked and bent and too slim to support the weight of a man. He also blessed it with the white blossoms that are shaped like a cross.

The petals are tinged with rust on the edges, to represent His blood-stained nail prints.

The center of the flower is said to be His crown of thorns, so that all who see the dogwood will pause and remember.

Simply Life Photographs is hosting a photo challenge called Flowers on Saturday. It is open for participants until Wednesday.  Click on the button to view more photos of flowers or enter one of your own.

5 Comments

Filed under Flowers on Saturday

5 responses to “The Story of the Dogwood Tree

  1. I have heard a similar version. Thanks for reminding me of its significance.
    I love dogwoods. Once upon a time, I dug a sapling from my dad’s place in Michigan, and replanted it in Illinois. It languished for five years, never growing an inch. I finally spoke to it. “You have one more summer, friend,” I said.
    The following Spring, it bloomed and began growing. It matured into a beautiful twenty foot specimen which blessed us with thousands of blossoms every year after.
    Happy Easter.

    • Thanks for the story, Grumpa Joe! I don’t know why I’ve never thought to plant one. We had a mimosa tree that was like that. It sat and sat and did nothing for a few years. Then, one day a tiny little branch appeared. A year later it was a huge tree!

  2. Really beautiful photos!! Have a great weekend!

  3. angela dunn

    I love seeing flowers from different countries, I don’t think we have Dogwood trees here in New Zealand.

  4. Ewa

    lovely flowers!
    Thank you for linking with Flowers on Saturday
    just to let you know that Mom of M&Ms – Simply Life Photographs – was so good and hosted the photo meme while I took a break from blogging,
    but it’s back on my blog now :)
    I hope your having great weekend!

Leave a Reply

