The Uncomfortable Truth About Blogging

Blog: a place to have a voice and connect with others.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why people blog. More specifically, why I blog. Or not.

The truth is, I have not been blogging, y’all. Oh sure, I have posted probably thousands of photos, with a few comments about them. I guess that makes me a “photo blogger.” But, I have not been posting my thoughts. And isn’t a true blog really about posting your thoughts?

When I actually examine this, I have not posted my thoughts since I started this blog. I have, here and there, shared a few personal things. But those type posts have been extremely rare. And as time goes by – rarer and rarer.

In January, I decided to join the WordPress Post a Day Challenge, and I did pretty good for a while. But then the wheels fell off and I found myself reverting back to taking the easy way out and just posting photos.

I ask myself, Why? Why is it so hard to write out something personal, and hit publish? There’s a myriad of reasons.

Fear. Fear that no one will want to read it. Fear of being ignored. Fear of being rejected. Fear of being criticized. Fear of making somebody mad. Fear of being laughed at. Fear of exposing a flaw, or a flawed relationship. Fear of being misunderstood.

And the biggest fear? Fear of humiliation. A fear that was instilled in me as a child, by family members who firmly believed (and taught) that our family did not hang out our dirty laundry – for all the world to see.

Then there’s time. Taking the time to write clearly means stealing time away from more worthy endeavors (folding laundry, paying bills, walking the dog, reading emails, and the big time waster – catching up on Facebook!) It takes time to sort out your thoughts, time to find the right words, time to edit it all into something more than verbal diarrhea.

Indecision. Not knowing what to write about. Or how to start it. Or whether to strive for informality, or humor, or clarity, or fluff, or substance. Do I want to entertain or inform? Vent or teach? Amuse or inspire? Should the post be short and to the point? Or long enough to engage the reader?

There are a handful of bloggers out there, who I admire very much, who write fearlessly. They share personal details about theirs lives and they bare their souls to the world. I want to be like them. I want to write something that is real, real enough to make you want to come back and read what I write tomorrow.

Real enough to make you want to laugh along with me, cry with me, and maybe share a few uncomfortable truths of your own.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Uncomfortable Truth About Blogging

  1. Just keep writing your feelings like you did in this piece and the blogging world will enjoy the read.
    Yes, it is hard to write great pieces, but you have it in you.
    Thanks Y’all

  2. You’ve done a pretty amazing job of expressing your feelings in this post. Beautiful writing and and I was sorry when I realized I’d reached the end. 🙂

  3. I love this post!

    I think a blog can be whatever you want it to be. Some days you’re going to feel like telling your story with photos and other times you put the words together and share that way. Personally, I think you should write more often! I like your writing and I’d love to hear more of your story.

    Mo

  4. I’ve always enjoyed the pictures you post. i have blog envy at times too. I want to write a certain way, I want my blog to be full of substance and say something interesting and substantial. But the truth is that it won’t always be that way and that’s just the way it is. I’ve managed to post some fairly intimate details and it was hard to decide to do it. But what I realized is that it no longer has any power over you. Keep up your posting. You’re doing a fabulous job!

Leave a Reply

