Vintage Thingie Thursday

I found another photo “meme,” or forum, to participate in called Vintage Thingies Thursday, brought to us by the Colorado Lady. She has a whole site devoted to recipes, antique china, quilts and lots of other delightful vintage things, so if you are into that kind of stuff, check her out!

Thursday is the day she devotes to allow folks to showcase their vintage treasures and to share their special things with everyone.

This is my first time posting a picture of a vintage thing. This is a picture of one of my Jewel Tea Aladdin teapots. I like it so much, that I have two of them. It is very cool, because it has an insert that holds the tea inside the pot while it steeps. I also have several other jewel tea tea pots, as well as tea pitchers, an electric coffee pot, bowls and lots of tea cups and dishes. I have bought most of these items off of Ebay.

Although many people refer to Hall’s most popular dinnerware pattern as “Jewel Tea,” these dishes originally left the factory without a name. In 1943, the company began referring to the pattern as “Autumn.” The name changed again in 1969 to “Autumn Leaf.”

Autumn Leaf dinnerware often made its way into American homes through “The Jewel Man,” a door-to-door salesman employed by the Jewel Tea Company of Chicago. This pattern became so popular that the company branched out to making all kinds of accessories, including glasses, cookware, refrigerator inserts, tablecloths, tea cloths, casserole dishes, trays, canisters and even playing cards!

This china pattern is dear to me because my grandmother owned a whole set of it, which she used in her kitchen when I was a child. I don’t know what happened to all of it, but one piece, an 80 oz. Ball Jug Pitcher, went to my mother. She used that pitcher to make sweet iced tea in every day of my childhood. Whenever I was thirsty, I went to the refrigerator and poured myself a cup of sweet tea out of that old tea pitcher.

Years after I was first married, I begged my mother to give me the old tea pitcher. It is not the one pictured here, but it is my most prized possession. Soon after I acquired it, I discovered that flea markets often had vintage jewel tea dishes and accessories for sale, and my collection began.

One of my dreams, is to someday own enough of it to be able to set a table with it, and leave it out as a display. Sometime in the next couple of months, our building contractor is going to start working on adding a room onto the back of my kitchen, and then I will have a big enough dining room to hold the furniture that I want. My dream is to own an old fashioned farmhouse style dining table, with benches for seating and a big china cabinet to hold my jewel tea items.

I am trying to decide what color to paint the dining room when it is finished. My house is decorated with cool blues and greens, with a “beachy” theme. I’m not sure the warm colors I am leaning towards will “go” with all my other rooms, but I am considering a coffee color for the walls, with a bright white trim. And since this room will be connected to the kitchen, perhaps re-doing my blue and white kitchen with a warm gold.

What suggestion do y’all have? What color scheme would you use to decorate a dining room, in order to best show off a collection of these jewel tea autumn leaf dishes?


19 thoughts on “Vintage Thingie Thursday

  1. I have seen this pattern on dishes in the past. Someone in my family had them, but do not remember who. They are definitely vintage and you can still find them in antique malls.

  2. Lovely Jewel tea pot!

    Last year on VTT several people shared their Jewel Autumn Leaf pieces and I shared a Jewel Tea Company cook booklet that I have. I look forward to seeing more of your collection!

  3. I remember Jewel Tea stores that were common in the state where I grew up. I didn’t know there was a Jewel man–maybe before my time. I assumed this dinnerware was sold in the grocery stores.

  4. I can actually remember the Jewel Tea man coming to our house and showing his products. My mother, grandmother and all the ladies used the things he sold. He always got refreshments when he came to our house..hmmmm, I wounder if he did at all the houses.There would have been a terrible weight gain. I wonder, what happened to all their things. I would so love to have a dining room like you described…it would so take me back to my childhood. That’s the kind of table and benches of my earliest recollections. Thank you for the sweet memories.

  5. Great post. I was once invited to gp along with a friend to her cousin’s home for brunch. Her cousin had a complete set of Jewel Tea (including your beautiful teapot) and has set the table for bunch with it. It was such a wonderful day and I was so honored to have been invited. My mother has a few pieces (a covered casserole & an iced tea pitcher) and I often see these great pieces at the estate sales and shops. Thanks for sharing your knowledge on these great dishes 🙂

    Blessings!
    Gail

  6. My Mom has several pieces of Jewel Tea dishes, s&p, etc. I remember them from when I was little, and didn’t think too much of them then. So guess who suddenly took a liking to them?! I have that Aladdin teapot too, and a few other pieces. It’s crazy how I have to have everything that I remember from childhood!
    Happy VTT!
    Carol

  7. Thank you for telling us about this pattern. I had never heard of it before. It is very pretty. I don’t know if your walls necessarily have to match your dish pattern. I wouldn’t worry about it. Do what makes you happy. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

  8. Welcome to Vintage Thingie Thursday…what a great post, I have seen lots of pieces of this too, but never a whole set. I can relate, I’d love to have a room large enough to hold a china cabinet (s) and a farm table..that way I could display all my many dishes that I have to have. Great post today! Happy VTT!

  9. Jewel Tea was so wonderful way back when… and I love teapots, especially the Aladdin style ones. Good luck with completing your table setting!

    Di
    The Blue Ridge Gal

  10. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen this pattern but it’s lovely. And a great story, too. I love love love china. I’m not much of a yard saler but I do use eBay to find obscure pieces like that. I have been collecting Limoges with the Napoleon bee for a good friend. I’ve had good luck on eBay.

    As for a color scheme, the gold is a great idea on so many levels. It’s very popular now for good reason, it is very warm and calming. I see it in a lot of houses I show plus I did my bedroom in it a couple years ago and I still love it!

  11. Welcome to VTT!! And especially welcome to a fellow North Carolinian!!

    Your tea pot is adorable. And your pain/decor idea sounds wonderful. Can’t wait to see pictures of the progress!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. It IS cool that all the colors came together. Luckily I didn’t have to try very hard.

    Between Chapel Hill and Pittsboro,
    Becky

  12. I just saw this post and I happen to have a Jewel Tea China Cabinet. Stained glass, etched mirrors, and etched glass doors and side panels. Can send a photo if you like.

Leave a comment